FIELD GUIDE / 0118 SEPTEMBER 2026

Expansion thesis

London’s next
hot-chicken target areas.

A consumer and location screening brief for Dave’s Head of Real Estate.

DAVE’S HOT CHICKEN / LONDON

Find the occasion.
Then find the corner.

Use Little Tokyo to identify the conditions that can create destination dining: visible pedestrian routes, food discovery, transport access and a blend of weekday and weekend trips.

16target areas screened
48specific street / junction targets
4existing London restaurants

The investment question

Where can Dave’s capture incremental London demand at a visible, operationally feasible unit? This study brings together Census residents, station movements, published corridor and district evidence, and the brand’s consumption occasions.

The strongest first fieldwork shortlist is Borough, Brixton, Camden, Spitalfields and King’s Cross. The order is a transparent screening result, not predicted revenue.

Brixton and Camden differ by only 0.1 point. Treat them as effectively tied. A good unit on the right pavement can matter more than a small area-score difference.

Balanced screening / 100

1
London Bridge / Borough
85.7
2
Brixton
84.5
3
Camden Town
84.4
4
Shoreditch / Spitalfields
82.3
5
King's Cross
79.3

30% destination occasions · 25% young-adult residents · 20% transport access · 15% weekend resilience · 10% existing-store distance.

Decision boundary. Independent public research as of 18 September 2026. The Little Tokyo top-performance statement is supplied by the user and has not been independently verified. No customer-origin file, comparable-store sales, candidate rent or available-unit survey was provided. Race, ethnicity and nationality are excluded throughout.

FIELD GUIDE / 0218 SEPTEMBER 2026

Benchmark / Little Tokyo

Transfer the occasions.
Test the consumer assumption.

131 S Central Avenue, Los Angeles: an informative case study, not a statistically validated template.

The concept

Premium fast-casual tenders and sliders, seven heat choices, a small core menu and strong takeaway/social occasions. The operator describes Gen Z and Millennial males as its core consumer, alongside broader appeal.

White City’s official menu lists Dave’s #1 at £10.99, #2 at £13.49, #3 at £11.99 and #4 at £9.99. These are location-specific menu prices, not average transaction values.

Operator consumer statement · Official White City menu

The important surprise

The resident tract containing the LA store has a median age of 57.6 years and estimated 1,702 residents. Its 18–34 share is about 12.9%; the ACS sampling margin is wide.

Young customers therefore cannot be inferred from the immediate residential population. The transferable hypothesis is visitor and commercial activity, supplemented by resident demand.

ACS 2024 five-year estimates, covering 2020–24; tract 2062.02. Age table · Median-age table

What the evidence actually measures

EvidenceObserved resultInterpretation / boundary
Metro half-mile station travelshed5,492 residents
41,859 jobs
7.62 jobs per resident
Historical 2023 ATSP context; metric source years are not stated. A larger, differently shaped geography than the resident tract. Jobs are not diners.
Nearby pedestrian screenline
1st Street, Central–San Pedro
985 weekday passages in 6 sampled hours
1,470 weekend passages in 2 sampled hours
LADOT 2021 survey: weekday 07:00–10:00 and 15:00–18:00; weekend 11:00–13:00. Different dayparts; not daily totals or store-door counts.
Operator’s store hours09:00–02:00 Sun–Wed
09:00–02:30 Thu–Sat
Current published trading hours support a late-night occasion hypothesis. They do not establish the share of revenue after 22:00.

LA Metro station-area profile · LADOT pedestrian dataset · Survey-window metadata · Official restaurant locator

The analogue is a destination-food district with multiple reasons to visit, not a search for an ethnic community or a matching resident-income profile.

Translate into London search criteria

  • A visible shop on a real station-to-retail or food-discovery route.
  • Activity beyond weekday office lunch: shopping, social dining, culture and weekends.
  • A practical final walk, space to queue and an operating envelope that supports dinner and later trade.

What remains unproven

  • Little Tokyo customer age, origin, spend and trip purpose.
  • The contribution of destination visits, local residents and delivery.
  • Whether those variables explain performance across successful and weaker Dave’s stores.

The LADOT count predates Dave’s 2023 opening and the new underground station. Current LA rail records displayed in the atlas are third-party-republished agency data and are not directly comparable with TfL entries + exits.

FIELD GUIDE / 0318 SEPTEMBER 2026

Fieldwork shortlist / 01–02

Start south of the river.

Two strong combinations of accessible residents, destination food and transport. Treat the individual corner as the acquisition question.

1

London Bridge / Borough

Food tourism · offices · transport

85.7screening / 100
16,141residents · 800 m
42.4%aged 20–34 · 6,847 people
3.08 kmnearest existing Dave’s · straight line
Target corner / approach500 m residentsAge 20–34
Borough High Street & Southwark Street5,22444.1%
Stoney Street & Southwark Street5,17444.0%
Borough High Street & St Thomas Street4,49044.2%

56.19m station movements at London Bridge LU in 2025. Bankside also reports 6.59m district visits in its January 2025 report; that mobile-derived district figure has an inconsistent period heading and is not a Borough High Street count.

Field test. Count both sides of Borough High Street and distinguish station arrivals from market circulation. Test evening trade after market hours, queueing and the rent burden.

TfL 2025 station workbook · Better Bankside / MyTraffic — January 2025 report (weekly charts cover 30 Dec 2024–26 Jan 2025) · ONS Census 2021 age data

2

Brixton

Music · social dining · repeat visits

84.5screening / 100
29,993residents · 800 m
42.0%aged 20–34 · 12,590 people
5.59 kmnearest existing Dave’s · straight line
Target corner / approach500 m residentsAge 20–34
Brixton Road & Electric Avenue10,91945.7%
Atlantic Road & Coldharbour Lane10,38441.7%
Brixton Station Road & Pope's Road10,53742.0%

20.27m station movements at Brixton LU in 2025. Brixton BID reports 138,567 estimated area visits/day in December 2024, using Huq mobile data. This is a seasonal BID-wide measure, not pavement traffic.

Field test. Compare the station-to-market hinge with Atlantic Road’s dining route. Test competitive pricing, repeat local demand, late hours, queue space and dispatch.

TfL 2025 station workbook · Brixton BID / Huq — December 2024 · ONS Census 2021 age data

Two distinct reasons to visit

Borough’s first test is a station-to-market opportunity with a substantial office and visitor context. Brixton’s test puts greater weight on repeat local demand and evening social dining. Neither district-wide footfall nor resident demographics establish the number of people who will pass, enter or purchase at a particular shop.

Station movements = entries + exits, not unique visitors or restaurant customers. Resident figures use Census 2021 study circles, not walk-time catchments. District/corridor observations retain their original units. No verified frontage count or vacancy is claimed.

FIELD GUIDE / 0418 SEPTEMBER 2026

Fieldwork shortlist / 03–04

Follow food discovery.

Creative markets and destination retail offer a plausible consumer occasion. The critical difference is how that activity reaches a visible Dave’s frontage.

3

Camden Town

Markets · music · weekend discovery

84.4screening / 100
24,145residents · 800 m
33.9%aged 20–34 · 8,179 people
3.29 kmnearest existing Dave’s · straight line
Target corner / approach500 m residentsAge 20–34
Camden High Street & Buck Street9,15735.8%
Camden High Street & Jamestown Road8,71135.4%
Kentish Town Road & Hawley Crescent10,40336.3%

17.16m station movements at Camden Town in 2025. Council sensors show approximately 40–45k pedestrian passages/day across the trial corridor in January–April 2026, read as a range from an unlabelled chart. The total cannot be assigned to each corner.

Field test. Compare the two High Street frontages with the Hawley Wharf east approach. Count ordinary weekday dinners as well as weekend market peaks.

TfL 2025 station workbook · London Borough of Camden — January–April 2026 · ONS Census 2021 age data

4

Shoreditch / Spitalfields

Markets · creative jobs · evening food

82.3screening / 100
24,269residents · 800 m
48.6%aged 20–34 · 11,783 people
4.16 kmnearest existing Dave’s · straight line
Target corner / approach500 m residentsAge 20–34
Brushfield Street & Commercial Street9,85948.0%
Commercial Street & Lamb Street9,22248.8%
Brick Lane & Hanbury Street11,92847.4%

60.08m station movements at Liverpool Street LU in 2025. The nominated Brushfield/Commercial node is about 634 m away in a straight line. No verified frontage pedestrian count was obtained for these target corners.

Field test. Test two business models separately: weekday City/rail-to-market traffic on Brushfield Street and weekend creative discovery at Brick Lane/Hanbury Street.

TfL 2025 station workbook · Official Old Spitalfields surrounding streets and Liverpool Street proximity · ONS Census 2021 age data

The side of the street matters

Camden’s council evidence supports the High Street corridor, but the reported passages cannot be assigned to all three targets. In Spitalfields, Brushfield Street and Brick Lane represent different weekday/weekend routes. Record crossings, walking direction and actual queue capacity before comparing units.

Station movements = entries + exits, not unique visitors or restaurant customers. Resident figures use Census 2021 study circles, not walk-time catchments. District/corridor observations retain their original units. No verified frontage count or vacancy is claimed.

FIELD GUIDE / 0518 SEPTEMBER 2026

Fieldwork shortlist / 05

The station-to-estate test.

King’s Cross has a powerful transport and destination story. The challenge is to capture the right part of it at an economic rent.

5

King's Cross

Creative campus · offices · destination

79.3screening / 100
26,289residents · 800 m
36.9%aged 20–34 · 9,689 people
2.68 kmnearest existing Dave’s · straight line
Target corner / approach500 m residentsAge 20–34
King's Boulevard & Goods Way5,51837.5%
Pancras Square & Goods Way4,35733.6%
Stable Street & Granary Square6,27039.7%

73.57m station movements at King’s Cross St. Pancras in 2025. The landlord reports 11.3m boulevard footfall/year in 2024; counting methodology is not disclosed. Its separate 18.7m estate total overlaps and must not be added.

Field test. Prioritise the visible station-to-estate route before deeper destination retail. Test rent, lunch-to-evening balance and customer overlap with Camden.

TfL 2025 station workbook · Google ground floor / Related Argent — Calendar 2024 · ONS Census 2021 age data

Why the micro-location changes the proposition

Spitalfields

Brushfield Street can intercept workers and rail arrivals moving toward the market. Brick Lane/Hanbury Street is a more deliberate creative, shopping and food-discovery circuit. The same district label conceals different weekday and weekend economics.

King’s Cross

King’s Boulevard’s published corridor evidence is especially relevant to the station approach. Pancras Square and Stable Street add office, campus and destination occasions, but deeper estate locations should not inherit station-gateway exposure.

Required before a unit becomes a recommendation

Observe frontage traffic and competitor queues by comparable daypart; confirm the customer path, direct sightline, usable frontage, extraction, servicing, queue capacity, delivery dispatch and permitted late hours. Then model rent, rates, service charge, fit-out and labour against Dave’s actual ticket and conversion data.

11.3mreported 2024 King’s Boulevard footfall
18.7mreported 2024 estate footfall — overlapping

The boulevard is a subset of the broader estate setting. Do not add these measures, convert them to unique visitors or allocate an equal share to every unit.

FIELD GUIDE / 0618 SEPTEMBER 2026

Market coverage

The complete screen.

Sixteen selected target areas, ranked under the balanced scenario. The list is not an exhaustive optimisation of every London centre.

#Target areaScore
/100
800 m
residents
20–34
share
Nearest
Dave’s km
Rank across
4 scenarios
1London Bridge / Borough85.716,14142.4%3.081–6
2Brixton84.529,99342.0%5.591–3
3Camden Town84.424,14533.9%3.291–5
4Shoreditch / Spitalfields82.324,26948.6%4.162–4
5King's Cross79.326,28936.9%2.685–13
6Canary Wharf78.523,10842.9%4.283–8
7Clapham Junction77.828,32242.1%5.824–9
8Dalston77.033,37935.4%4.836–8
9Angel / Islington75.731,65337.4%3.087–12
10Elephant & Castle74.934,95440.8%3.039–14
11Peckham / Rye Lane73.324,52031.9%6.448–11
12Hammersmith69.720,27632.3%1.6612–16
13Ealing Broadway68.715,19329.6%5.759–15
14Walthamstow Central67.527,22326.6%4.7510–14
15Greenwich town centre67.417,93535.8%6.8011–16
16Kingston upon Thames64.715,71527.4%12.0515–16

Scores are analyst-weighted screening indices. Population/age: ONS Census 2021 centroid aggregation. Distances are straight line; rank ranges reflect the balanced, destination, resident and spacing scenarios—not statistical confidence intervals.

Existing London estate / four open restaurants

Shaftesbury Avenue

40 Shaftesbury Avenue, London W1D 7ER

West End street restaurant

Official operator page

Westfield White City

Unit 3125A, Westfield London, W12 7GF

Shopping-centre restaurant

Official operator page

Westfield Stratford

121 Montfichet Road, Floor 2, Westfield Stratford City, London E20 1EJ

Shopping-centre restaurant

Official operator page

Croydon

7–11 High Street, Croydon CR0 1QB

Town-centre high-street restaurant

Official operator page

Official estate checked 18 September 2026. White City is mapped at shopping-centre precision; the mapped point does not identify the internal shop entrance. These four stores define the existing-store spacing component.

Read the gaps commercially. Hammersmith’s area anchor is about 1.66 km from White City, making existing-store overlap especially material. Kingston adds geographic distance but ranks lower on the current young-adult and transport proxies. Neither fact alone settles its unit economics.

FIELD GUIDE / 0718 SEPTEMBER 2026

Model / audit trail

Transparent weights.
Consistent definitions.

The model prioritises investigation. It is not fitted to sales, does not estimate success probabilities and cannot substitute for an available-unit appraisal.

ComponentBalancedDestinationResidentSpacing
Destination & occasions30%40%15%20%
Young-adult residents25%10%45%20%
Transport access20%20%15%15%
Weekend resilience15%25%15%10%
Existing-store distance10%5%10%35%

Final score = sum of component scores × scenario weights. All components run from 0 to 100. Scenarios are assumptions, not calibrated estimates.

How each component is calculated

DestinationMean of three analyst ratings: destination pull, evening/leisure and jobs/student mix, each 0–5; multiply by 20. Named anchors and public sources inform the judgement.
Resident60% × min(100, age 20–34 share ÷ 40% × 100)
+ 40% × min(100, age 20–34 count ÷ 6,000 × 100).
Uses the 800 m Census study area. Thresholds are screening assumptions.
Accessmin(100, 100 × ln(1 + annual station movements / 1 million) ÷ ln(101)) × max(0.25, 1 − station distance in metres / 1,500). One nominated series; overlapping modes are not summed.
Weekendmin(100, Saturday / midweek station-movement ratio ÷ 1.5 × 100). Missing compatible data receives a neutral 50. This is day-type resilience, not an observed restaurant daypart mix.
Spacingmin(100, straight-line kilometres to the nearest existing Dave’s ÷ 4 × 100). This is a distance proxy, not customer overlap or a cannibalisation estimate.

Population geography

Include whole Census Output Areas whose ONS population-weighted centroid lies within 500 m or 800 m of a nominated point. No area weighting or pedestrian routing. Rivers, railway barriers and inaccessible crossings are not modelled.

Age shares use all residents. Tenure and car-availability shares use households; qualifications use residents aged 16+. Overlapping circles must never be summed.

Vintage and units

UK residents: 21 March 2021. Income context: containing MSOA, year ending March 2023, mean household income. TfL station series: 2025. ORR supplementary series: 2024/25. Corridor/BID/estate observations retain their own dates.

Clapham Junction and Kingston lack a compatible weekend series here. Greenwich uses the DLR ratio for weekends and National Rail entries/exits for annual access; the series are not added.

ONS / Nomis Census bulk tables · ONS population-weighted centroids · TfL annual station counts · OpenStreetMap geometry attribution

FIELD GUIDE / 0818 SEPTEMBER 2026

Decision roadmap

From an attractive area
to a defensible acquisition.

Use the map to choose where to observe and request opportunities. Use operating evidence and unit economics to choose where to commit.

1.45 kmCamden ↔ King’s Cross
1.30 kmKing’s Cross ↔ Angel
1.25 kmBorough ↔ Elephant

Approximate straight-line distances between nominated area anchors. Candidate-to-candidate overlap is not penalised in the score. These are alternative or potentially overlapping network choices, not independently additive sales opportunities.

01

Calibrate against Dave’s actual consumers

Request 13 weeks of anonymised transactions and sales by half-hour, channel and store; customer-origin aggregates; repeat rates; average spend per order; and the same variables for strong and weaker US/UK stores. Verify the Little Tokyo performance premise and separate destination, local and delivery occasions.

02

Count the frontage, not just the neighbourhood

At the best two corners per area, observe both pavements in consistent 15-minute intervals across weekday and weekend lunch, dinner and late evening. Record directions, crossings, queues and weather/events. Repeat on an ordinary week; do not extrapolate one festival or concert peak.

03

Audit the competitive and operating envelope

Map direct chicken/QSR alternatives and their queues, prices and trading hours. For candidate units, confirm frontage, customer visibility, extraction, servicing, dispatch, waste, queue capacity and permissions. A target street does not imply a unit is available or suitable.

04

Assess the incremental network economics

Apply Dave’s evidenced spend per order, conversion, channel mix and margins to unit scenarios. Include rent, rates, service charge, capital cost and labour. Model customer/delivery overlap with existing and proposed stores, then test the assumptions against holdout locations.

Decision standard

Advance a site when an identifiable consumer occasion, observed frontage flow and feasible premises produce a credible contribution case under downside assumptions. A high screening score is an invitation to investigate—not proof that a restaurant should open.

Source and working-material access

Interactive London Expansion Atlas
All 16 target areas, 48 target nodes, source cards, scenarios and study circles.

Official Little Tokyo store · Operator consumer statement
Concept, published hours and the brand-wide consumer hypothesis.

LA Metro station-area profile · LADOT pedestrian observations
Historical commercial intensity and sampled street activity, with distinct geographies.

ONS / Nomis Census 2021 · TfL station counts 2025
Resident study-area estimates and station-movement proxies.

Camden sensor report · King’s Boulevard landlord evidence
Corridor-specific evidence; scope and methodology limitations remain visible.

Brixton BID / Huq · Better Bankside / MyTraffic
District/mobile observations; not individual-frontage traffic.

Map geometry: © OpenStreetMap contributors, ODbL. Census: © Crown copyright, Open Government Licence. All links are clickable. This brief uses the atlas dataset as of 18 September 2026 and should be refreshed before a live acquisition decision.

FIELD GUIDE / 0918 SEPTEMBER 2026

London leasing language

Eight terms.
A better property conversation.

Checked 18 September 2026. Leasing law: England and Wales. Business rates examples: England. Scotland and Northern Ireland have different rules.

Zone A / ITZA. Zone A is the most valuable frontage zone of a conventional shop. ITZA means “in terms of Zone A”: floor areas are weighted to make differently shaped shops comparable. Zones are commonly 6.1 metres deep, but local conventions vary. A Zone A rental rate is not a rate applied indiscriminately to the entire floor area. VOA: shops and shopping centres
Turnover rent. Rent linked to an agreed definition of the occupier’s sales, sometimes alongside a base rent. Ask how online orders, delivery, click-and-collect, returns and VAT are treated, and what reporting and audit rights apply. Turnover is sales, not profit. RICS: turnover leases
FRI — full repairing and insuring. Describe the repairing and insurance liabilities in the lease. The landlord often arranges building insurance and recovers the cost. For a unit within a larger building, an effective FRI obligation can include recovery of shared repair costs through the service charge. It is not a blanket synonym for the US term “NNN”. RICS: lease terms
Service charge. The occupier’s contractual contribution towards shared services and relevant building or estate costs. Check the budget, apportionment, exclusions, any cap and reconciliation arrangements. Business rates and insurance are separate items unless the lease says otherwise. RICS: service charges in commercial property
Heads of terms. The agreed commercial outline used to instruct solicitors, normally marked “subject to contract”. Cover the demise, term, breaks, rent and reviews, incentives, repairs, service charge, insurance, permitted use, alterations, assignment, security and 1954 Act position. Avoid treating agreed heads as the completed lease. RICS: negotiating heads of terms
Inside or outside the 1954 Act. “Inside” means the tenancy benefits from the business-tenancy security-of-tenure regime, including a qualified right to renew. “Outside” means that protection has been validly contracted out; there is no statutory renewal right under that regime. Renewal inside the Act is not unconditional: landlords may oppose on statutory grounds. Government: renewing and ending business leases
Business rates. A tax on occupation of most non-domestic property, separate from rent. Estimate the bill from the rateable value and applicable multiplier, then account for reliefs and supplements. Rateable value is not the annual bill and need not equal the passing rent. Use the current valuation and local authority bill. Government: estimating business rates
Rent review. The contractual mechanism for resetting rent during the term. Establish the review dates, basis, assumptions and disregards, and any cap or collar. Passing rent, market rent and net effective rent are different measures. Upwards-only mechanisms are a live reform topic, as set out below. RICS: commercial property rent reviews

Read the actual allocation of costs

Use turnover rent for sales-linked rent. FRI addresses repairing and insurance liabilities; it is not a blanket translation of NNN. Price the total occupation cost, including rent, business rates, service charge, insurance and the fit-out.

FIELD GUIDE / 1018 SEPTEMBER 2026

Rent-review reform / England and Wales

Enacted.
Not yet in force.

Royal Assent and commencement are different milestones.

The English Devolution and Community Empowerment Act 2026 received Royal Assent on 29 April 2026. It provides for a ban on upwards-only rent reviews in qualifying business tenancies in England and Wales. As at 18 September 2026, the operative ban has not yet commenced. Royal Assent did not itself make existing upwards-only clauses unenforceable. Government announcement, statutory commencement framework

The regime addresses qualifying new and renewal leases, and relevant variations introducing rent-review terms, after commencement. It includes market-, index- and turnover-linked mechanisms where the revised rent is not known or determinable at the outset. Fixed, pre-agreed stepped rents are not automatically prohibited. Protected pre-commencement arrangements and special rules for renewal arrangements entered into on or after 17 March 2026 require attention. Do not present this as a retrospective reset of every existing lease or assume that future exceptions have already been settled. Act, section 100 and Schedule 37, explanatory notes, paragraphs 1222–1269

The first two commencement instruments concern elections and local government audit, not the rent-review ban. Commencement No. 1, Commencement No. 2

A useful meeting question: “How are you adjusting heads of terms and rental assumptions ahead of commencement of the upwards-only rent-review ban?”

Questions for the meeting

Status checked 18 September 2026. Check commencement and the particular lease arrangements again before agreeing heads of terms. The separate 1954 Act reform consultation is not enacted law.